What are the planets sizes in order?

What are the planets sizes in order?

Planets In Order Of Size:

Planet Diameter (km) Size relative to Earth
Mercury 4879.4 38% the size of Earth
Mars 6779 53% the size of Earth
Venus 12104 95% the size of Earth
Earth 12756 100% the size of Earth

What are the 9 planets in order?

The order of the planets in the solar system, starting nearest the sun and working outward is the following: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and then the possible Planet Nine. If you insist on including Pluto, it would come after Neptune on the list.

What are the sizes of the 8 planets?

Planet Sizes

  • Mercury – 1,516mi (2,440km) radius; about 1/3 the size of Earth.
  • Venus – 3,760mi (6,052km) radius; only slightly smaller than Earth.
  • Earth – 3,959mi (6,371km) radius.
  • Mars – 2,106mi (3,390km) radius; about half the size of Earth.
  • Jupiter – 43,441mi (69,911km) radius; 11x Earth’s size.

What are the 4 outer planets smallest to largest?

The Planets

Rank the four outer planets according to: Size (smallest to largest) Neptune, Uranus, Saturn, Jupiter
Rank the four outer planets according to: surface temperature (warmest to coldest) Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune
What are the names of the four moons of Jupiter? Io, Callisto, Europa, Ganymede

What is the size of the smallest planet?

Smallest Planet: Mercury The smallest planet in regards to both mass and volume is Mercury — at 4,879 km across and 3.3010 x 1023 kg, this tiny world is nearly 20 times less massive than Earth, and its diameter is about 2½ times smaller. In fact, Mercury is closer in size to our Moon than to Earth.

Is Venus the smallest or biggest planet?

The second planet in the solar system, Venus, is the third smallest planet with a radius of 3761 miles (6052 km). Earth, of course, is the third closest planet to the Sun and the fourth smallest with a radius of 3963 miles (6378 km). Just past Earth is Mars, the fourth planet in the solar system.

Are there 8 planets or 9?

Our solar system is made up of a star—the Sun—eight planets, 146 moons, a bunch of comets, asteroids and space rocks, ice, and several dwarf planets, such as Pluto. The eight planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Mercury is closest to the Sun. Neptune is the farthest.

Why is Pluto no longer a planet?

The International Astronomical Union (IAU) downgraded the status of Pluto to that of a dwarf planet because it did not meet the three criteria the IAU uses to define a full-sized planet. Essentially Pluto meets all the criteria except one—it “has not cleared its neighboring region of other objects.”

Which planet is the smallest in size?

Mercury is the smallest planet in our solar system – only slightly larger than Earth’s Moon.

How many planets are smaller than Earth?

The planets in order of their decreasing sizes are as follows: Jupiter > Saturn > Uranus > Neptune > Earth > Venus > Mars > Mercury. Thus, Venus, Mars and Mercury are smaller than Earth.

Is Uranus the biggest or smallest planet?

To ensure that the list stays stuck, just think of something along the lines of “Mercury Met Venus Every Night Until Saturn Jumped.” Essentially, this indicates that the size of the planets in order from smallest to largest is Mercury, Mars, Venus, Earth, Neptune, Uranus, Saturn, and Jupiter.

Is Uranus bigger than Neptune?

Uranus is slightly larger in diameter than its neighbor Neptune, yet smaller in mass.

Which planets are smaller than Earth?

Mercury, Venus & Mars are all smaller than Earth – as are all of the minor planets, Pluto, Sedna etc.

How big is the Earth compared to other planets?

Our home planet Earth is the fifth largest of the eight planets and measures in at 12,756 km in diameter. This means that Earth is actually approximately 2.6 times the diameter of the smallest planet, Mercury. Another size comparison puts Earth at 3.67 times the diameter of the Moon.

Which planet is the smallest?

Mercury is the smallest planet by both mass and volume. The solar system is made up of eight planets of which Mercury is the smallest. The solar system is made up of eight planets which are grouped into terrestrial ( Venus , Mercury, Earth, and Mars) and the giant planets (Uranus, Saturn, Neptune , and Jupiter).

What are the planets in order?

Nine planets are in our solar system: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Apart from Earth, these planets were named after the gods of Roman mythology. If you’re having difficulty remembering the order of the planets, a few memory tricks can help you keep them straight.