What country in South Asia is located closest to the equator?

What country in South Asia is located closest to the equator?

Indonesia, country located off the coast of mainland Southeast Asia in the Indian and Pacific oceans. It is an archipelago that lies across the Equator and spans a distance equivalent to one-eighth of Earth’s circumference.

Which Asian countries are south of the equator?

Countries south of the Equator in South America include Brazil, Argentina, and Peru. Countries in Asia located in the Southern Hemisphere include Indonesia and East Timor.

What 3 countries are crossed by the equator?

The Equator passes through 13 countries: Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, Sao Tome & Principe, Gabon, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, Maldives, Indonesia and Kiribati.

Which continents does the equator pass through?

The EQUATOR cross through these continents: South America, Africa, and Asia.

Does equator pass through South Asia?

1. The equator passes through the continents of South America, Africa and Asia.

Is Southeast Asia near the Equator?

The term Asia refers conventionally to the eastern portion of the Eurasian landmass plus the island country of Japan and the island nations of Maritime Southeast Asia. The continent is situated almost entirely north of the equator except for some Southeast Asian islands.

Is Southeast Asia near the equator?

Does equator pass through Peru?

Peru is a country on the central western coast of South America facing the Pacific Ocean. It lies wholly in the Southern Hemisphere, its northernmost extreme reaching to 1.8 minutes of latitude or about 3.3 kilometres (2.1 mi) south of the equator….Geography of Peru.

Continent South America
• Water 0.4%
Coastline 2,414 km (1,500 mi)

Does the equator pass through Mexico?

The North American country of Mexico has a latitude of 23.6345° N, and longitude of 102.5528° W. These points place Mexico in the northern and western hemispheres, respectively. Likewise, Mexico lies to the north of the equator.

Is Philippines near the equator?

GPS Coordinates and Borders of the Philippines The Philippines are located at a latitude of 14° 34′ 59.99″ N and a longitude of 121° 00′ 0.00″ E. That said, the Philippines is above the equator and part of the northern hemisphere. These GPS coordinates also place the Philippines in the eastern hemisphere.

Is Asia in the Southern Hemisphere?

The Northern Hemisphere contains North America, the northern part of South America, Europe, the northern two-thirds of Africa, and most of Asia. The Southern Hemisphere contains most of South America, one-third of Africa, Australia, Antarctica, and some Asian islands.

Is Asia close to the equator?

Some Facts about Asia. Asia is the largest of the five continents on Planet Earth in area and population. The continent is situated almost entirely north of the equator except for some Southeast Asian islands.

Where does the equator pass through in Asia?

The Equator passes through the Asian country of Indonesia. Indonesia is located in Southeastern Asia between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean. It is an archipelago consisting of over 13,000 inhabited islands. Indonesia comprises a total area of 735,358 square miles.

What are the countries through which the equator runs?

The countries through which the equator runs are: 1 São Tomé and Principe. 2 Gabon. 3 Republic of the Congo. 4 The Democratic Republic of the Congo. 5 Uganda. 6 Kenya. 7 Somalia. 8 Maldives. 9 Indonesia. 10 Kiribati.

How are the northern and southern hemispheres separated by the equator?

The equator is an imaginary line that circles the Earth, splitting it into the Northern and Southern hemispheres. Because of this, the intersection point of any location by the equator is equidistant from the North and South poles. Find out what life is like for countries along the equator. 13 Countries That Lie on the Equator

Which is the ocean that passes through the equator?

Some notable aquatic features through which the Equator passes include the Atlantic Ocean, Lake Victoria, the Indian Ocean, the Karimata Strait, the Makassar Strait, the Gulf of Tomini, Molucca Sea, Halmahera Sea, and the Pacific Ocean.