What coaches won national championships at Alabama?

What coaches won national championships at Alabama?

During their tenures, Wade, Thomas, Bryant, Stallings, and Saban each won national championships with the Crimson Tide. Bryant is the leader in seasons coached and games won, with 232 victories during his 25 years with the program.

Who coached Alabama before Saban?

List of Alabama Crimson Tide football coaches

Name Seasons Pct.
Mike Price3. 2003
Mike Shula 2003–06 .531
Joe Kines4. 2006 .000
Nick Saban 2007– .874

Who was the head football coach for Alabama in 1992?

Gene Stallings
The 1992 Alabama Crimson Tide football team represented the University of Alabama in the 1992 NCAA Division I-A football season. This was the team’s third season under head coach Gene Stallings. They played their home games at both Bryant–Denny Stadium in Tuscaloosa, Alabama and Legion Field in Birmingham, Alabama.

Who was Alabama’s head coach in 1993?

1993 Alabama Crimson Tide football team

1993 Alabama Crimson Tide football
SEC West Division champion Gator Bowl champion
Head coach Gene Stallings (4th season)
Offensive coordinator Mal Moore
Defensive coordinator Bill Oliver (1st season)

Who has beaten Alabama the most?

Alabama’s highest win percentage is against Kentucky which comes in at a blistering 94.9%….Alabama’s all-time record against every SEC school.

Opponent Record Win %
Kentucky 36-2-1 94.9%
Ole Miss 47-10-2 81.4%
Mississippi State 77-18-3 80.1%
Vanderbilt 58-19-4 74.1%

Who followed Bear Bryant at Alabama?

Ray Perkins
Ray Perkins, the Bear Bryant successor who coached Alabama for 4 years, has died. The man best known for replacing Bear Bryant at Alabama has died. Ray Perkins was 79. His family reported the news to AL.com as he died this morning at his home in Northport, Alabama.

Who coached Alabama in 2006?

Mike Shula
2006 Alabama Crimson Tide football team

2006 Alabama Crimson Tide football
Head coach Mike Shula (4th season) Joe Kines (bowl game)
Offensive coordinator David Rader (4th season)
Offensive scheme Pro-style
Defensive coordinator Joe Kines (4th season)

Who coached Alabama in 1996?

1996 Alabama Crimson Tide football team

1996 Alabama Crimson Tide football
SEC Western Division co-champion Outback Bowl champion
AP No. 11
1996 record 10–3 (6–2 SEC)
Head coach Gene Stallings (7th season)

Who was Alabama coach in 2003?

2003 Alabama Crimson Tide football team

2003 Alabama Crimson Tide football
Conference Southeastern Conference
Western Division
2003 record 4–9 (2–6 SEC)
Head coach Mike Shula (1st season)

Who won the 1993 college football national championship?

Florida State
The 1993 NCAA Division I-A football season saw Florida State crowned national champions, in both the AP and Coaches poll. Under the Bowl Coalition, undefeated Big 8 champ and No. 2 ranked Nebraska hosted ACC champ and No. 1 ranked Florida State in the Orange Bowl.

Who coached Alabama in 1998?

Mike DuBose
1998 Alabama Crimson Tide football team

1998 Alabama Crimson Tide football
Music City Bowl, L 7–38 vs. Virginia Tech
Head coach Mike DuBose (2nd season)
Offensive coordinator Neil Callaway (1st year as OC 2nd overall)
Co-offensive coordinator Charlie Stubbs (1st season)

Who was the national champion of Alabama in 1961?

The 2009 NCAA Record Book cites the Minnesota Golden Gophers, the Texas Longhorns, and the Alabama Crimson Tide as the three teams selected as national champions in 1941. 1961 – The 1961 Alabama Crimson Tide football team, coached by Bear Bryant, completed the regular season 10–0–0, winning the Southeastern Conference championship.

Who was the first college football coach to win two national championships?

Nick Saban. He became the first coach in college football history to win a national championship with two different Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools since the inception of the AP Poll in 1936. Saban and Bear Bryant are the only coaches to win an SEC championship at two different schools.

When did Alabama last win a national championship?

Alabama claims it has won national titles in 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2018. Saban won his first national championship with LSU in 2003, when the Tigers split the title with USC.

Who was the coach of Alabama in 1925?

1925– The 1925 team, coached by Wallace Wade, completed the regular season 9-0-0, winning the Southern Conference championship. Alabama was then invited to play Washington in the January 1, 1926 Rose Bowl.