What are the 2 Headstreams of Ganga?

What are the 2 Headstreams of Ganga?

The Ganges rises in the southern Great Himalayas, and its five headstreams—the Bhagirathi, the Alaknanda, the Mandakini, the Dhauliganga, and the Pindar—all rise in the mountainous region of northern Uttarakhand state. The two main headstreams are the Alaknanda and the Bhagirathi.

What are the headstreams of river Ganga?

The Ganga has two main headstreams-Bhagirathi and Alaknanda. The Bhagirathi rises in Gangotri glacier in Uttarkashi district of Uttarakhand. The Bhagirathi flows through central and lesser Himalayas and meets Alaknanda at Devprayag.

What are the two sources of Ganga river?

Source Confluence at Devprayag, Uttarakhand of the Alaknanda river (the source stream in hydrology because of its greater length) and the Bhagirathi river (the source stream in Hindu mythology). The headwaters of the river include: Mandakini, Nandakini, Pindar and the Dhauliganga, all tributaries of the Alaknanda.

What is the name of Ganga dam?

Major Projects Tehri dam (260.5 m) in Uttarakhand is the highest dam on Ganga while Nanak Sagar dam situated in Udham Singh Nagar district of Uttarakhand state is the longest dam (19.2 km) on Ganga.

Where do the two Headstreams of Ganga meet to form Ganga?

(iv) The two headstreams of the Ganga are the Bhagirathi and Alaknanda. They meet at Devaprayag in Uttarakhand to form the Ganga.

Which among the following headstreams made the Ganga in last?

Answer: Alaknanda originates in Satopanth Glacier above Badrinath. From Devprayag, where Alaknanda and Bhagirathi meet, the river is known as Ganga.

Where do the two sources of Ganga join?

The headwaters of the Bhagirathi are formed at Gaumukh, at the foot of the Gangotri glacier and Khatling glaciers in the Garhwal Himalaya. These two sacred rivers join to form the Ganges (Ganga) in Devprayag. Devprayag is 70 km from Rishikesh.

What are the twin sources of Ganga system?

Bhagirathi and Alaknanda are the two headstreams of the river Ganga.

Who named Ganga river?

Ganga (goddess)

19th century Kalighat painting of goddess Ganga
Other names Bhagirathi Jahnavi Nikita Mandakini Alaknanda
Affiliation Devi River goddess Yogini
Mantra Om Shri Gangayai Namaha

How many dams are there in river Ganga?

NEW DELHI: The flow of the Ganga is being restricted and its rejuvenation is under threat due to the over 900 dams, barrages and weirs built on the river, according to environmentalists. They also said to rejuvenate the river, its flow must be improved and discharge of solid waste from cities into it be stopped.

Which among the following headstreams meet the Ganges in last?

What are the twin sources of Ganga?

Answer: Explanation: The main stream of Ganga begins at the confluence of the Bhagirathi and Alaknanda rivers in the town of Devprayag in the Garhwal division of the Indian state of Uttarakhand.