How many countries in Europe are republics?

How many countries in Europe are republics?

Among the fourteen parliamentary republics, half do the same (namely Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Ireland, Slovakia and Slovenia), whereas in the remaining seven (Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia and Malta), the president is elected by parliament or other special representative …

What are 5 countries in Western Europe?

The CIA classifies seven countries as belonging to “Western Europe”:

  • Belgium.
  • France.
  • Ireland.
  • Luxembourg.
  • Monaco.
  • Netherlands.
  • United Kingdom.

What are the 10 Western European countries?

Western European Union (WEU), former association (1955–2011) of 10 countries (Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, and the United Kingdom) that operated as a forum for the coordination of matters of European security and defense.

Who were the 2 main countries of Western Europe?

Today, the United Nations defines Western Europe in a way similar to the old Cold War definition, but excludes the UK, the Scandinavian countries, Spain, Portugal, Italy, and Greece….Western European Countries.

Rank 2
Western European Country Belgium
Population 11,484,060
Total Area in km2 30,528

What types of republics are there?


  • 2.1 Arab republics.
  • 2.2 Confederal republics.
  • 2.3 Crowned republics.
  • 2.4 Democratic republics.
  • 2.5 Federal republics.
  • 2.6 Islamic republics.
  • 2.7 People’s republics. 2.7.1 Current people’s republics. 2.7.2 Former people’s republics.
  • 2.8 Socialist republics.

What states are a republic?

America’s Sovereign States: The Obscure History of How 10 Independent States Joined the U.S.

  • Republic of Vermont (1777-1791)
  • Kingdom of Hawaii (1795-1898)
  • Republic of West Florida (1810)
  • Republic of Texas (1836-1846)
  • Republic of Rio Grande (1840)
  • Provisional Government of Oregon (1843-1849)
  • Republic of California (1846)

What country belong to Western?

Western Countries 2021

Country 2021 Population
United States 332,915,073
Brazil 213,993,437
Mexico 130,262,216
Germany 83,900,473

What are the Western nations?

The Western world, also known as the West, refers to various regions, nations and states, depending on the context, most often consisting of the majority of Europe, the Americas, and Australasia.

What constitutes Western Europe?

The Northern and Western Europe region includes economies from Northern Europe (Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Norway, Sweden, and the United Kingdom), and Western Europe (Austria, France, Germany, the Netherlands, and Switzerland).

Which countries are considered Western?

The following countries are in the Western Hemisphere region:

  • Canada.
  • Mexico.
  • Guatemala.
  • Belize.
  • El Salvador.
  • Honduras.
  • Nicaragua.
  • Costa Rica.

Is Estonia a republic?

Estonia remained a Soviet republic until 1991, when, along with the other Baltic states, it declared its independence. Estonia set about transforming its government into a parliamentary democracy and reorienting its economy toward market capitalism.

How many countries are republics?

As of 2017, 159 of the world’s 206 sovereign states use the word “republic” as part of their official names.

Is the Republic of Ireland part of Western Europe?

As a result, Ireland was divided into Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland in the south. Even with such a drastic interruption of unity in Ireland, the entire island is considered part of Western Europe. The primary languages spoken in the Republic of Ireland are English and the Celtic language of Gaelic.

Are there any republics or monarchies in Europe?

Other constitutional monarchies of the same or similar structure in Western Europe include Belgium, Denmark, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Norway, and Luxembourg. There are also several republics in Western Europe. France, for example, is a republic.

What are the 7 countries that make up Western Europe?

The CIA classifies seven countries as belonging to “Western Europe”: Belgium; France; Ireland; Luxembourg; Monaco; Netherlands; United Kingdom; The CIA also classifies three countries as belonging to “Southwestern Europe”: Andorra; Portugal; Spain; Western European and Others Group

Who are the members of the Western European Union?

Western European Union. In 1948 the Treaty of Brussels was signed between Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom. It was further revisited in 1954 at the Paris Conference, when the Western European Union was established.